William G. Boissonnault, PT

APTA is pleased to present William G. Boissonnault with the Jack Walker Award.

William G. Boissonnault, PT, and Mary Beth Badke, PT, PhD, are authors of "Pursuit and Implementation of Hospital-Based Outpatient Direct Access to Physical Therapy Services: An Administrative Case Report," the first publication describing the development and implementation of a direct-access patient-care delivery model in a large academic medical center.

Despite legislative approval of direct-access to physical therapy, other regulatory barriers and internal institutional policies often must be overcome before this practice model may be fully adopted, and few institutional initiatives have been published describing strategies designed to change policies restricting direct patient access. Reviewed patient care decisions by therapists participating in the pilot program were deemed appropriate 100 percent of the time by physician chart reviewers. Approximately 10 percent of the patients seen were referred to a radiologist for plain film imaging, and 4 to 16 percent were referred to physicians for pain medications or medical consultation, respectively. The report’s goal was to assist other institutions in implementing a similar consumer-access practice model; the pilot program’s success led to institutional adoption of the direct-access model in all physical therapy outpatient clinics.

Boissonnault WG, Badke, MB, Powers, JM Pusuit and Implementation of Hospital-Based Outpatient Direct Access to Physical Therapy Services: An Administrative Case Report Phys Ther 2010, 90 100-109. 


I wish to thank the APTA Board of Directors for acknowledging our work in autonomous practice with the Jack Walker award. The administrative and physician support provided by Jane Powers, David Bernhardt, MD, James Leonard, DO, and Thomas Zdeblick, MD, was deeply appreciated and instrumental in advancing our practice model. My deepest respect and gratitude goes to the physical therapists whose excellent and endless work led to the development and implementation of the physical therapy direct access program at the University of Wisconsin Hospital and Clinics.

I also wish to express my sincere appreciation to Dr Pamela Duncan, Dr Richard Di Fabio, and Dr Dennis Fryback for their wise counsel and support throughout my career in Physical Therapy.

I accept this award in honor of my family who has gone before me.

CSM 2016