Media Release: Election Results from House of Delegates

Two officers, three directors, three Nominating Committee members

ALEXANDRIA, VA, JUNE 13, 2008 – The American Physical Therapy Association (APTA) House of Delegates elected two officers, three directors, and three Nominating Committee members during its annual meeting prior to PT 2008.

New officers are Connie D Hauser, PT, DPT, ATC, Treasurer and Shawne E Soper, PT, DPT, MBA, Speaker. Paul A Rockar, Jr, PT, DPT, MS, was re-elected Director, and Kevin L Hulsey, PT, DPT, MA, and Lisa K Saladin, PT, PhD, were elected as new directors. Karen A Paschal, PT, DPT, PJ Phelps, PT, and Louise D Yurko, PT, MAEd (1-year term), were elected to the APTA Nominating Committee.

"The new directors, officers, and Nominating Committee members bring a wealth of experience to the profession and association," APTA President R Scott Ward said. "I am looking forward to working alongside each of these leaders to help the profession reach its goal of Vision 2020."

Physical therapists are health care professionals who diagnose and manage individuals of all ages, from newborns to elders, who have medical problems or other health-related conditions that limit their abilities to move and perform functional activities in their daily lives. Physical therapists examine each individual and develop a plan of care using treatment techniques to promote the ability to move, reduce pain, restore function, and prevent disability. Physical therapists also work with individuals to prevent the loss of mobility by developing fitness- and wellness-oriented programs for healthier and more active lifestyles.

The American Physical Therapy Association ( is a national organization representing physical therapists, physical therapist assistants, and students nationwide. Its goal is to foster advancements in physical therapist education, practice, and research. Consumers can visit to find a physical therapist in their area, as well as for physical therapy news and information.