• News New Blog Banner

  • Physical Therapist Receives International Pain Award

    PTJ Editorial Board member Steven Z. George, PT, PhD, recently was awarded the Ulf Lindblom Young Investigator Award for Clinical Science from the International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP). This award honors an IASP member who is younger than 40 years old and has achieved a level of independence as a scholar in the field of pain in clinical science.

    George is associate professor and assistant chair in the Department of Physical Therapy at the University of Florida. He has written more than 115 peer-reviewed articles and numerous guest editorials; letters to the editor, responses, and commentaries; and book chapters and monographs. He serves on the International Editorial Review Board for Journal of Orthopaedic & Sports Physical Therapy. In 2009 he received the University of Florida's Jack Wessel Excellence Award for Assistant Professors. He is a recipient of APTA's Eugene Michels New Investigator Award (2007) and the American Pain Society's John C. Liebeskind Early Career Scholar Award (2009).

    George's research has been supported by grants from the National Institutes of Health, the Department of Defense, the University of Florida, APTA's Orthopaedic Section, and the Foundation for Physical Therapy. His current research projects include: developing and testing behavioral interventions for patients with low back pain; investigating the interaction between pain-related genetic and psychological factors in the development of postoperative chronic shoulder pain; and investigating the mechanisms and efficacy of manual therapy techniques.

    George accepted the award earlier this month in Milan at IASP's 14th World Congress on Pain.

    Leave a comment
    Name *
    Email *