• News New Blog Banner

  • 2013 APTA State Awards Recipients Announced at State Policy & Payment Forum

    APTA state chapter leaders from Indiana, North Carolina, Kansas, Michigan, and Nebraska were honored for their efforts to ensure that physical therapists and physical therapist assistants have a strong voice in the legislative process. The awards were part of the activities of the most recent APTA State Policy & Payment Forum, held September 15-17, 2013, in Omaha, Nebraska.

    In recognition of their individual leadership on legislation advancing or defending Vision 2020 in the state arena, the APTA Board of Directors awarded the 2013 State Legislative Leadership Award to Pauline Flesch, PT, MPS, of the Indiana Chapter; Dean McCall, PT, DPT, OCS, of the North Carolina Chapter; and Pam Palmer, PT, of the Kansas Chapter. State Legislative Commitment Awards were presented to Jake Jakubiak Kovacek, PT, of the Michigan Chapter and Kirk Peck, PT, PhD, CSCS, CCRT, of the Nebraska Chapter in recognition of their long-term commitment to their chapters' state advocacy activities. Future advocacy efforts will seek to advance the Vision Statement for the Physical Therapy Profession, adopted by the APTA House of Delegates in 2013.

    More than 200 physical therapists, physical therapist assistants, and physical therapy student advocates from across the country attended the forum, cohosted by APTA and the Nebraska Chapter. The event featured a variety of informational and strategy sessions on topics including the implementation of health care reform at the state level, fair physical therapy copay legislation, telehealth, emerging scope of practice issues, strategies for negotiating with insurance companies, and infringement challenges. Highlights from this year's event and awards reception can be found on the APTA website.

    Leave a comment
    Name *
    Email *