• News New Blog Banner

  • APTA Photo Contest Winners Announced

    The winning entries in the 2013 APTA photography competition have been announced, and combined they make a moving statement on how physical therapy's transformative powers begin with the individual patient or client.

    Last year, members submitted photos that evoked the power of physical therapy practice, education, and research. The photos were reviewed by a panel of judges, which selected the following winners:

    • First place - Jed Jacob Droge, PT, DPT, OCS, ATC, CSCS
    • Second place and honorable mention (2 photos) - A. Sanvictores, PT, DPT
    • Third place - Bridget M. Teele, SPT
    • Honorable mention - Marcia Mattson, PT

    All winning photos have been posted on the contest webpage. APTA's next photography contest will be held in 2015.

    Virtual Town Hall February 20 for Motions to the 2014 House of Delegates

    APTA continues its series of virtual town halls that enable APTA members and delegates to discuss motion concepts and language for the 2014 House of Delegates. The next virtual town hall will take place Thursday, February 20, 8:00 pm–9:30 pm, ET.

    Led by the Reference Committee and House officers, virtual town hall participants will be able to share motion topics and provide input on topics shared by others. Participation is open to all APTA members.

    Participants can sign up for the town hall via the “Virtual Town Hall Sign-Up Sheet” posted to the House of Delegates Community in the Shared Documents Folder. The deadline to add a concept to the discussion lineup or sign up as an attendee is February 19 at 5:00 pm.

    The APTA House of Delegates will take place June 9–11 in Charlotte, North Carolina.

    Hayes, Hillegass Named To Influential Measures Evaluation Committees

    APTA members Marcie Harris Hayes, PT, DPT, MSCI, OCS, and Ellen Hillegass, PT, EdD, CCS, FAACVPR, FAPTA, have been named to National Quality Forum (NQF) steering committees overseeing reviews of musculoskeletal measures and cardiovascular conditions for the US Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

    Hayes and Hillegass will join multi-disciplinary, multi-stakeholder teams charged with evaluating new measures and reviewing established measures undergoing maintenance review. The committees will make recommendations for which measures should be endorsed as consensus standards, and will work to identify and endorse new performance measures. Hayes has been selected for the musculoskeletal group; Hillegass will serve on the group focused on cardiovascular conditions and measures.

    Hayes is associate professor of physical therapy and orthopedic surgery at the Washington University School of Medicine in St Louis. Hillegass is an adjunct professor at Mercer University in Atlanta, Touro University in Las Vegas, and Western Carolina University, and is also the president and CEO of Cardiopulmonary Specialists, a private consulting firm.

    NQF is a nonprofit, nonpartisan public service organization focused on the review and endorsement of standardized health care performance measures. The organization is under contract with HHS to conduct endorsement projects.