APTA State Legislative Leadership Award

APTA's State Legislative Leadership Award was established in 1993. This award recognizes the work of an individual APTA member on behalf of a component's state legislative efforts in a given year.

Eligibility Requirements

  • Must be an active APTA member in good standing
  • Must be a licensed physical therapist or physical therapist assistant in the state they serve
  • Must have made a significant contribution and shown leadership in the area of state legislation
  • Must be a role model to members in the area of state legislative leadership

Submission Requirements

The nomination process for this award is currently closed. Please check back in spring 2016 for information on the 2016 award.

What Recipients Receive

The selected 2015 recipient(s) will be invited to attend the State Policy & Payment Forum, September 19-21, 2015, in Denver, Colorado. The award will be presented at the forum. The recipient(s) also will receive recognition on APTA's website, as well as in PT in Motion and PT in Motion: News.

Additional Resources

View highlights from previous State Policy & Payment Forums.

If you have any questions about the nomination process or the award, contact Angela Chasteen at 800/999-2782, ext. 3199, or by email at angelashuman@apta.org.

Award Recipients

View APTA State Legislative Leadership Award Recipients (1993 to present) (.pdf)

View APTA State Legislative Commitment Award Recipients (2007 to present) (.pdf)