• News New Blog Banner

  • Joint Commission Posts Prepublication Standards for PCMH Certification Options

    The Joint Commission recently posted prepublication standards for its Primary Care Medical Home (PCMH) Certification options for accredited hospitals and critical access hospitals

    The PCMH requirements relate to the following 5 operational characteristics:

    • patient-centered care
    • comprehensive care
    • coordinated care
    • superb access to care
    • systems-based approach to quality and safety

    The requirements are effective January 1, 2013.

    Launched in July 2011, PCMH Certification for Joint Commission-accredited ambulatory care organizations focuses on care coordination, access to care, and how effectively a primary care clinician and interdisciplinary team work in partnership with the patient (and where applicable, his or her family). PCMH certification is consistent with the new federal health care reform efforts to improve health outcomes and the continuity, quality, and efficiency of health care services.

    Leave a comment
    Name *
    Email *