# 2023 Honors & Awards Recipients



# 55th Mary McMillan Lecture Award

Judith Deutsch, PT, PhD, FAPTA

# Catherine Worthingham Fellow of the American Physical Therapy Association

Jill Boissonnault, PT, PhD, FAPTA

William Cade, PT, MSPT, PhD, FAPTA

Jennifer Christy, PT, PhD, FAPTA

Carol Courtney, PT, PhD, FAPTA

Jane Fedorczyk, PT, MSPT, PhD, FAPTA

Stacy Fritz, PT, PhD, FAPTA

Minal Jain, PT, DScPT, FAPTA Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Pediatric Physical Therapy

Marie Johanson, PT, PhD, FAPTA Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Orthopaedic Physical Therapy

Michele Lobo, PT, PhD, FAPTA

Robert Manske, PT, DPT, MEd, FAPTA Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Sports Physical Therapy

Kathleen Mairella, PT, DPT, MA, FAPTA

Christine McDonough, PT, PhD, FAPTA

Alison McKenzie, PT, DPT, PhD, FAPTA

Debora Miller, PT, MBA, FAPTA

Robert Rowe, PT, DPT, DMT, MHS, FAPTA

Karin Gravare Silbernagel, PT, PhD, FAPTA

Julie Tilson, PT, DPT, MS, FAPTA Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Neurologic Physical Therapy

Pamela Unger, PT, DPT, FAPTA

Francis Welk, PT, DPT, MEd, FAPTA

Lynda Woodruff, PT, PhD, FAPTA



# 29th John H. P. Maley Lecture Award

Philip McClure, PT, PhD, FAPTA

# Lucy Blair Service Award

Beth Crowner, PT, DPT Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Neurologic Physical Therapy

Susan Griffin, PT, DPT

Gregory Hicks, PT, PhD, FAPTA

Matthew Hyland, PT, PhD

Alan Chong Lee, PT, PhD Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Geriatric Physical Therapy

Joyce Maring, PT, DPT, EdD

Eva Norman, PT, DPT

Kristin von Nieda, PT, DPT, MEd

### **Marilyn Moffat Leadership Award**

Sharon Dunn, PT, PhD Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Orthopaedic Physical Therapy

### **Outstanding Physical Therapist Assistant Award**

Rebecca Horton, PTA, BSPTA

#### **Societal Impact Award**

Stephen Leppard, PT

Theresa Monaco Spitznagle, PT, DPT Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Women's Health Physical Therapy

# **Humanitarian Award**

Claudia Senesac, PT, PhD Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Pediatric Physical Therapy

### **Eugene Michels New Investigator Award**

Michael Borich, PT, DPT, PhD

Nora Fritz, PT, DPT, PhD



# Marian Williams Award for Research in Physical Therapy

Gammon Earhart, PT, PhD, FAPTA

### Jack Walker Award

Amit Kumar, PT, MPH, PhD

# **Chattanooga Research Award**

Richard Shields, PT, PhD, FAPTA and Shauna Dudley-Javoroski, PT, PhD, for article "Epigenetics and the International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health Model: Bridging Nature, Nurture, and Patient-Centered Population Health," published in PTJ: Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation Journal, Vol. 102, No. 1.

#### **Dorothy Briggs Memorial Scientific Inquiry Award**

Katie Butera, PT, DPT, PhD, for article "Low Risk for Persistent Back Pain Disability Is Characterized by Lower Pain Sensitivity and Higher Physical Performance," published in PTJ: Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation Journal, Vol. 102, No. 3.

#### Helen J. Hislop Award for Outstanding Contributions to Professional Literature

Chad Cook, PT, PhD, MBA, FAPTA

Catherine Eckels Lang, PT, PhD, FAPTA

#### Jules M. Rothstein Golden Pen Award for Scientific Writing

Fay Horak, PT, PhD, FAPTA

### Dorothy E. Baethke-Eleanor J. Carlin Award for Excellence in Academic Teaching

John Heick, PT, DPT, PhD Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Neurologic, Orthopaedic, and Sport Physical Therapy

# Signe Brunnström Award for Excellence in Clinical Teaching

Leigh Langerwerf, PT, DPT

### Margaret L. Moore Award for Outstanding New Academic Faculty Member

Kirby Mayer, PT, DPT, PhD

### F. A. Davis Award for Outstanding Physical Therapist Assistant Educator

Clarence Chan, PT, DPT

### **Minority Initiatives Award**

Northwestern University Department of Physical Therapy and Human Movement Sciences

### **Outstanding Physical Therapist Resident Award**

### Mitchell Adam, PT, DPT

Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Neurologic Physical Therapy



# **Outstanding Physical Therapist Fellow Award**

Joseph Derian, PT, DPT Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Orthopaedic Physical Therapy

#### Mary McMillan Scholarship Award

Shondah Cowherd, PTA, Somerset Community College

Zofia Haack, SPT, University of Central Florida

Alyx Jorgensen, SPT, University of Nebraska Medical Center

Michelle Lueking, PTA, Clarkson College

Shane Mathew, SPT, University of Florida

Carolyn Schmitz, SPT, Marquette University

#### **Minority Faculty Development Scholarship Award**

Veronica Jackson, PT, DPT

Paula Johnson, PT, DPT, MBA

#### **Minority Scholarship Award**

Garreth Bell, SPT, University of Miami

McKenzie Bridges, SPT, Georgia State University

- Xavier A. Gibson, SPT, Springfield College
- Andrea Holloway, SPT, Alabama State University
- Rosedaveia Howell, SPT, ATC, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
- Isabel Lorimer, SPT, University of Colorado
- Jonathan Mack, SPT, Virginia Commonwealth University
- Shane Mathew, SPT, University of Florida
- Christine Rodriguez, SPT, University of Miami
- Brianna Seawood, SPT, Andrews University

Tamya Sims, SPT, Indiana University

### Federal Government Affairs Leadership Award

Lance Mabry, PT, DPT Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Orthopaedic Physical Therapy



# State Legislative Leadership Award

Michael Riley, PT

# Honorary Membership

Dean Jacks

Richard Macko, MD