Skip to main content

The Jules M. Rothstein Golden Pen Award for Scientific Writing recognizes published authors in PTJ:  Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation Journal whose writing excellence is demonstrated in a unique contribution or a series of profound articles that have broadened perspectives within a content area. Qualifying authors must demonstrate committed leadership in encouraging collaboration and contributions to improve PTJ.

Eligibility Requirements

  • Demonstrated superior writing skill in one or more articles published in PTJ. The writing excellence may be reflected in one particularly unique, classical contribution or in a series of articles designed to develop further knowledge within a content area or conceptualization.
  • Collaborated with or encouraged others to make similar contributions or contributed outstanding leadership and effort in initiating activities to improve PTJ.

Criteria for Selection

  • Be a physical therapist who has made a significant contribution to health care by writing in the areas of theory, practice, basic or clinical research, education or administration.
  • Have published in at least two different health care professional journals or contributed to at least two books, monographs, or proceedings from scientific meetings.
  • Reflect in their scientific writing expertise of subject matter, innovation of ideas, and clarity of expression.
  • Provide electronic examples of their published writings. These examples should be from health profession publications, both within and outside the discipline of physical therapy. Publications can include scientific journals, books, monographs, or proceedings from scientific meetings, podcasts, webinars, online courses, and other publications.

A strong application should demonstrate the following:

Superior writing skills as demonstrated by style and clarity of presentation and creativity or timeliness of content.

Collaboration with and encouragement of others to improve PTJ.

A continuing record of scholarly contributions to PTJ.

Sample material or electronic copy of a PTJ article that speaks to the strengths of the nominee.

What Recipients Receive

An award will be presented to the recipient by APTA's Board of Directors at an APTA national event, and an official announcement will appear in an association publication.

Submission Requirements

During the online process, the following documents will be required for upload:

  • Current curriculum vitae or resume of the nominee.
  • A letter of nomination that specifically focuses on the strengths of the nominee in relation to the award criteria, not to exceed three pages. 
  • One electronic copy of an article written by the nominee that has been published in PTJ and that best reflects the criteria for the award.

Submit a Nomination

The nominations call for the Honors and Awards program is open Sept. 1- Dec. 1. Nominations must be submitted through our online portal by Dec. 1; late submissions will not be considered. Selected recipients and their nominators will be notified in May.

Additional Resources

For questions regarding the nomination process or the award, please contact