Skip to main content


What it measures:

The Fatigue Severity Scale (FSS) is a unidimensional self-report questionnaire that measures how fatigue impacts one’s ability to function in the last week. Each question is scored on a 7-point Likert scale, where 1 means strongly disagree and 7 means strongly agree. The original FSS, which is most widely used, has 9 questions. However, there also is (FSS)-7 and (FSS)-5, which use 7 and 5 questions respectively from the original test. (1,2)

Target Population:

This summary contains information on use of this test in patients or clients with Guillain-Barré Syndrome (GBS).  

You Might Also Like...

Test & Measure

Medical Outcomes Study Short Form-36 (SF-36)

Generic, patient-reported measure designed to assess health-related quality of life.

Test & Measure

Short Form – 12 Item Health Survey (Version 2)

Assesses health-related quality of life from the client/patient's perspective

Test & Measure

Asthma Quality of Life Questionnaire (AQLQ)

This is a 32-item questionnaire used to assess the physical, occupational, emotional, and social qualities of adults aged 17 to 70 years with asthma.