Skip to main content


What it measures:

The Graded Symptom Checklist (GSC) originated from the 21-item Post-Concussion Scale (PCS), the GSC has appeared in the literature with both 17 items and 18 items.  Symptoms for the 18-item scale, used in the postconcussion population, have been categorized into 4 areas; cognitive, somatic, emotional, and sleep problems. There are many variations of this test with varied amounts of items for each test.  The GSC is often included in the Standard Assessment of Concussion (SAC) immediately following concussion.

Patients self rate the presence and severity of signs and symptoms such as blurred vision, dizziness, drowsiness, sleeping more than usual, easily distracted, fatigue, feeling “in a fog,” headache, and irritability. Symptoms are rated on a scale of 0 (“no symptoms”) to 6 (“severe”).  The higher the score, the higher the symptom severity (McCrea et al, 2003).

Please note that the PCS is a subjective measure that has been used to more objectively measure the symptoms described in the GSC (Lovell et al, 2006).

Target Population:

The purpose of the test is to look at baseline postconcussion symptoms (presence and duration) and symptom resolution postinjury and with follow-up (Alla, Sullivan, Hale, & McCrory, 2009).

You Might Also Like...


Living Guideline for Diagnosing and Managing Pediatric Concussion

Jan 1, 2019

These guidelines help healthcare professionals manage post-concussion symptoms and provide direction to rehabilitate persons with moderate-to-severe


Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Guideline on the Diagnosis and Management of Mild Traumatic Brain Injury Among Children

Nov 1, 2018

This guideline provides recommendations related to diagnosis, prognosis, and management and treatment for children with mild traumatic brain injury.