Skip to main content

The new code sets offer greater specificity in identifying health conditions.

On October 1, the International Classification of Diseases, Tenth Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-10) replaced the ICD-9 code sets used by private practices, hospitals, skilled nursing facilities, and other provider settings across the United States to report diagnoses and inpatient procedures. While ICD-10 was developed more than 20 years ago and has been in use for years in many countries, the United States has been slow to adopt and implement it. The transition from ICD 9-to ICD-10 is long overdue, as ICD-9 dated to 1979 and neither reflected advances in medical knowledge and technology nor had the growth capacity to accommodate those advances.

Log in or create a free account to keep reading.

Join APTA to get unlimited access to content.

You Might Also Like...


Coding for Timed Codes

Mar 22, 2021

Over the years there has been much confusion over the coding of minutes when billing private payers. APTA recommends billing be consistent to all payers.


Anthem's UM Arm Releases Guidelines on Clinical Appropriateness

Feb 5, 2021

Included: lists of what is and isn't considered medically necessary under Anthem's MA, Medicaid, and commercial offerings.


Payment Win: Aetna Becomes Second Major Insurer to Lift Edits on Code Pairs

Feb 5, 2021

The major commercial insurer follows Cigna in a decision to lift misguided coding edits, a target of APTA advocacy efforts.