Skip to main content

The physical therapy licensure compact creates a new way for PTs and PTAs to practice or work in multiple states.

In order to participate in the compact, states must opt in by adopting the compact through legislation. PTs and PTAs in participating states will have the option of obtaining a "compact privilege" to practice or work in another participating state if they meet certain criteria.

Currently 21 states have adopted the PTLC legislation: Arizona, Colorado, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Washington, and West Virginia.

Log in or create a free account to keep reading.

Join APTA to get unlimited access to content.